How and Why to Use the Zoom Window in GoodNotes

Zoom in for focused thought.

Emily Hokett
3 min readJan 14, 2023
Photo by Saffu on Unsplash

Writing on the iPad screen feels difficult sometimes. I’ve struggled with writing neatly on the glass of the iPad. The zoom window on the GoodNotes app helps me to feel more in control of my writing, write more quickly, and legibly on the iPad.

How to Use The Zoom Window

Using the zoom window in GoodNotes might be intuitive for some, but I only recently learned how to use it. The zoom window has improved my writing flow on the GoodNotes app, particularly for long-form writing. Below, I outline how to use the zoom window.

1. For a seamless writing experience, turn on the option for “Auto Advance.”

2. Select the zoom window icon.

3. Start writing in the top portion where the screen is zoomed in. You will see a zoomed out version of your writing at the bottom of the screen.

4. When the blue square pops up, write there. This will allow you to keep writing within the zoom window, and the writing area will automatically shift to a new writing space.

Examples showing where Auto Advance is in the settings and the icon to turn on the zoom window feature (image from author).

See the video below for a demonstration of using the zoom window.

Benefits of Using The Zoom Window

The clearest benefit of using the zoom window in GoodNotes is neater handwriting. The larger writing space helps with forming letters. Writing within the zoom window allows me to get more words on a single page and write them neatly.

Another benefit of the zoom window is focus. The zoom window helps me to focus on what I’m writing in the moment. I don’t need to see the overview. In fact, I sometimes shift my overview window to hide the smaller writing and just hone in on my current zoomed in section. Then, I don’t think about where I am on the page or how much I’ve already written. I just write. This writing setup, where I only focus on the current section, works best for long-form journaling and free writing.

The zoom window in GoodNotes is one feature that helps me focus and get my thoughts onto a page. There are many apps, platforms, and mediums that help facilitate focused thought. The key is to pick the ones that work for you and find the fun in them.

If you found value in this post and want to say thanks, here are a few ways to support the blog:

  • Leave a comment for further discussion.
  • Chat with me directly and send feedback, questions, or article requests to emily.c.hokett@gmail.com
  • Join Medium and my email list for regular posts (~2x per month, never spam, no ads).
  • Buy me a tea🍵 to support the maintenance of the blog.

--

--

Emily Hokett

healthy sleep advocate | writer, runner, doodler | learning time management skills to live a balanced, meaningful life